### Conference in Algebraic Graph Theory

July 1 - July 7, 2018

Pilsen, Czech Republic

#### http://www.iti.zcu.cz/WL2018/

#### ITI Center of Excellence

Faculty of Applied Sciences of the University of West Bohemia in Pilsen

and

Union of Czech Mathematicians and Physicists

organize the conference

# Symmetry vs Regularity: The first 50 years since Weisfeiler-Leman stabilization (WL2018)

**Scope:** The main goal of the conference is to reflect recent significant events in the development of Algebraic Graph Theory (AGT) and related areas of mathematics. In particular it will commemorate the 50th anniversary of the discovery of a polynomial-time algorithm for the computation of the coherent closure of a given graph. Over the years, this algorithm has played a significant role in both AGT and computer science.

**Venue:** The conference will take place in Pilsen, named as one of the two European capitals of culture in 2015. Most participants will be accommodated at the Hotel Trend Pilsen, near the scenic center of Pilsen. The lectures will be at the meeting room of the City Hall nearby (capacity of the room up to 100 persons).

# Structure: WL2018 will consist of

- a two-hour tutorial (Laci Babai) and 8 one-hour keynote lectures;
- six 40-minutes invited session lectures, given by representatives of the younger generation of experts in AGT;
- a limited number of 25-minutes contributed talks;
- a limited number of short (5-10 minutes) presentations;
- a special session devoted to the history of the theory of coherent configurations.

There will be no parallel sessions.

# Keynote plenary speakers:

- László Babai, University of Chicago, USA,
- Peter Cameron, University of St Andrews, UK,
- Edwin van Dam, Tilburg University, the Netherlands,
- Tatsuro Ito, Anhui University, China,
- Eugene Luks, University of Oregon, USA (to be confirmed),
- Mikhail Muzychuk, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel,
- Dmitrii Pasechnik, University of Oxford, UK,
- Ilia Ponomarenko, St Petersburg Department of Steklov Institute of Mathematics, Russia,
- Sergey Shpectorov, University of Birmingham, UK.

### Confirmed invited speakers:

- Vladimir Arlazarov, Institute for System Analysis, Moscow, Russia,
- Rosemary Bailey, University of St Andrews, UK,
- Eiichi Bannai, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China,
- Igor Faradžev, Institute for System Analysis, Moscow, Russia,
- Bohdan Kivva, University of Chicago, USA,
- Marianna Rozenfeld, California, USA,
- Alyssa Sankey, New Brunswick, Canada,
- Andrey Vasil'ev, Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Novosibirsk, Russia,
- Oleg Verbitsky, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany,
- Olga Weisfeiler (younger sister of Boris Weisfeiler), USA,
- John Wilmes, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA.

The conference costs (accommodation, board, registration fee) should not exceed  $\in$ 450. More detailed information about costs and payment will be given in the second announcement and on the conference web page.

**Topics for talks and presentations:** The main preference will be given to applicants for contributed talks in the area of AGT, those which reasonably correlate with the mainstream lines in AGT, reflected in the plenary lectures.

**Further information** will appear soon on the conference web page and will be provided in forthcoming announcements. Informal enquiries may be sent to any of the members of the scientific or organizing committees, preferably to Sasha Ivanov or Misha Klin.

#### Important dates:

Submission deadline: February 16, 2018. (If you intend to submit an application for a talk or a short presentation, please consider applying early. The number of slots is limited.)

First notification: February 28, 2018.

Final acceptance: April 10, 2018.

Early registration: ASAP, April 16, 2018.

## Scientific Committee:

- Alexander Ivanov, Imperial College, UK (Chair);
- Mikhail Klin, Ben-Gurion University, Israel;
- Akihiro Munemasa, Tohoku University, Japan;
- Roman Nedela, University of West Bohemia in Pilsen, Czech Republic.

## Organizing Committee (partial list):

- Roman Nedela, Pilsen (Chair);
- Štefan Gyürki, Matej Bel University, Slovakia;
- Premek Holub, Pilsen;
- Ján Karabáš, Matej Bel University, Slovakia;
- Maria Nedelova, Pilsen;
- Matan Ziv-Av, Ben-Gurion University, Israel.